Donegal Annual 1979

President: John Desmond Williams

Who Was Edward Eustace?Morwenna Donnelly387
Clann Chnáimhsighe – A Donegal SeptBrian Bonner392
Letter To Murray Of BroughtonThomas Addi398
The Rentouls Of Second RayBy a Descendant405
Dr. Samuel Campbell, R.N., Surgeon And SurveyorEdward F. Meade415
Clár den &OAacute;bhar Gaeilge as Dún na nGall atá foilisithe in BéaloideasN. MacCongáil419
The Heather FortRev. John Fitzgeraid427
                     Galún Uí DhónaillN. Ó Dónaill,435
                     Deeds From Mevagh ParishDr. L. W. Lucas436
                     Two Donegal ConundrumsR. S. Ó Cochláin442
Archaeological Survey of Co. DonegalBrian Lacy445
In Memoriam  447
Annual Report & Proceedings Of The Society   450
Officers & Membership    455

Donegal Annual 1978

President: John Desmond Williams

Tarlach Mac Suibhne, An Píobaire MórSean Ó Gallchóir245
The Role Of The Caldwell Family In The Williamite  Defence Of The Erne And DonegalJohn Cunningham254
The Connolly PapersE.Austin Currie261
Parliamentary Politics In Co. Donegal, 1790-1832Desmond Murphy266
A History Of The O’Cannons of Tír ChonaillThomas Gildea Cannon276
Gné den lmirceEunan Mac Cuinneagain316
Graveyard Inscriptions At St. Anne’s Church of Ireland,  BallyshannonAnthony Begley320
Questing In Co. Donegal After The Great FamineRev. Bernard J. Canning359
Laggan Personalities Of 1798Mrs. S. M. Campbell364
Notes & Queries: Conall, Son of NiallBrian Lacey368
                              Galún Uí DhónaillRupert S. Ó Cochlainn,368
                             The Chapple Of MoynbrenanRev. P. Ó Gallachair369
                              H.M.S. Donegal (formerly La Hoche)Russell McKay369
                             McSheffreys Of lnishowenC. Eugene Swezey370
                            C. Eugene Swezey 375
In Memoriam 377
Annual Report & Proceedings Of The Society   378
Officers & Executive, 1978      383

Donegal Annual 1977

President: John Desmond Williams

Niall Garbh II O’Donnell, King of Tír Conaill, 1422-’39Dr.  Katharine Simms7
The Murray Of Broughton Estate, 1730William H. Crawford,22
The Fortification of  Lough Swilly & Lough FoyleRussell McKay40
A Burial In A Polygonal Cist At CarrickballydooeyMichael Ryan49
The Antiquities Of St. John’s PointCharles Conaghan53
The Waterloo PriestRev. John Fitzgeraid62
Notes & Queries  68
In Memoriam 72
Annual Report & Proceedings Of The Society   74
Officers & Membership 78

Donegal Annual 1975 / 1976

President: Brian Walsh

Saint Oliver Plunkett & The Diocese Of RaphoeRt.  Rev. Monsignor Tomas Ó Fiaich99
Folklore From GlenfinnLiam MacMenamin, B.A108
Dr. William Smyth, Heroic Donegal DoctorMary Rankin126
From Dr. William Smyth’s DaughterMrs. Mary Russell,129
The Rosses: From The Earliest Times To 1640Fr. T. O’Donnell, O.F.M131
Co. Donegal Sept HeraldryO’Kelly de Conejera165
Megalithic Monuments Along The ErneDenis Holly179
Notes Et Queries 201
Book Reviews  201
In Memoriam 209
Annual Report and Proceedings 218
Officers and Membership 223
1975 /1976

Donegal Annual 1974

President: Seán Uasal Mac Loinsigh

The Arms Of County Donegal   1
Francis Makemie Rev. Professor John M. Barkley3
Old RathmullanRev. Dr. John J. Silke22
The Pattons And Dills Of SpringfieldNancy Kingham,33
Bishop Reamonn Ó GallachairBrian Bonner41
Five Donegal Historians Of Last CenturyP. J. McGill53
An Early List of Co. Donegal ParishesRev. P. Ó Gallachair66
Notes & Queries  71
In Memoriam   75
Proceedings Of The Society      76
Officers & Membership    81

Donegal Annual 1973

President. Liam MacMeanman

Arranmore Island in the Great Famine, 1846-’48 Breandán Mac Cnáimhsí239
Society of Friends Report on the Famine In Co. Donegal 249
Giants’ Grave, Magheracar, BundoranDenis Holly                  267
Sketches and Placename Of “Lisney lmwdely”, Magheracar, BundoranBearnárd Ó Dubhthaigh273
Diary of a Tour Through Donegal, 1837Frances & Emily Ponsonby281
Srath na gCeallPatrick J. McGill292
Muintir GhallchobhairAth. P. Ó Gallachair295
Notes on the History of Belleek PotteryMrs. M. Jenks, Chelsea316
Notes & Queries 322
Reviews 328
In Memoriam 335
Proceedings Of The Society  338
Officers & Membership   341

Donegal Annual 1972

President. Liam MacMeanman

A Donegal Broadside Ballad of 1856Dr. Eoin MacWhite119
The Settler Population of an Ulster Plantation CountyRobert Hunter124
Aodh Mac Briene: Saint of Sliabh Liag Pádraig Ó Beirne 155
Population Changes on Tory IslandJames A. Hunter159
A Donegal Revenue Inspection of 1775David Dickson172
Letterkenny Pastor and Parliamentarian:Rev. John Kinnear (1823-1909)Rev. Dr. Bewglass183
Ards:     From Manor House to Monastery Edward MacIntyre187
A Man from the Croaghs recalls old PlacenamesPatrick Campbell193
Notes & Queries 205
Leabhar-léirmheas: Book Review 209
Proceedings of The Society  219
Officers & Membership     223
In Memoriam  237

Donegal Annual 1971

Commemorating the Silver Jubilee

President: Dr. J. G. Simms

President: Dr. J. G. Simms  1
The Ulster Plantation in Co. Donegal Dr. J. G. Simms3
Nicholas Skipper Seán Patrick Healy15
Farming on Tory Island J. A. Hunter19
Patrick MacGill: The Birth of a Legend Dr. Joseph Mulholland27
An Historial Geography of South Donegal C. P. Ó Cnáimhsí36
The Rosses: From the Earliest Times to 1640Rev. T. O’Donnell, O.F.M.62
The First Meeting of The Co. Donegal Historical SocietyAn Eye Witness’s Impression85
Obituaries 88
Proceedings of The Society   100
Officers & Membership   104

Donegal Annual 1970

President:  E.W. R. Cookman

Napper Tandy’s Raid on Rutland (1798)  Rupert S.Ó Cochlain139
County Donegal in 1845Maureen Wall161
North-West Donegal after The Great FamineBrendan Mac Cnáimhsí178
Mairgní Nuala Ní DhónaillNiall Ó Dónaill203
Sidelights of The Parishes of  Cuidaff & ClonchaBrian Bonner208
The Great Famine in Pettigo  232
Buncrana and Derry In 1744David Dickson233
A Seventeenth Century Mill in TyrhughR. J. Hunter238
The Missing Stones of Conwall & ClonchaMabel R. Colhoun241
Death of Rory O’Donnell in Rome   244
A Forgotten Priest of Penal Days   245
Oileán An Teampaill 246
Reviews  247
Notes & Queries       253
Proceedings of The Society    256
In Memoriam  260
Officers & Membership   261