Donegal Annual 2000

President: Eddie O’Kane

Then and NowCecil A. King4
The Port of BallyshannonJohn B. Cunningham7
Ballyshannon’s Proud Fishing TraditionBilly Finn,  M. Donagher & A. Kane38
Building Homes for the Rural Labourers of DonegalNiamh Brennan45
A Voice from the Pasr: The Innishfree LettersPádraig Ua Cnaimhsí53
Emigration from Donegal and the Irish Emigration Database ProjectPatrick Fitzgerald57
John Doherty-The Prince of FiddlersPádraig Ó Baoighill63
John Leslie: The Protestant Bishop of Raphoe 1633-61 and his CastleFrank McCarron & Arthur Spears69
The Montgomerys of Crogan and ConvoyHelen Meehan75
Fr. Bryan O Cannan 1692-1743 of Lettermacaward ParishTomás G. Ó Cannan86
The Allinghams of BallyshannonMalcolm McClure87
Some Previously unrecorded Antiquities from Bunnamayne & Moness TownlandsBrian McNaught90
Recent Stone Axe Finds in InnishowenTommy Gallagher92
Donegal Studies 2000Liam Ó Rónáin95
Proceedings of the SocietyAnthony Begley107
Schools’ CompetitionsPat Shallow109
Obituary – Cecil A. King 110
Officers and membership 111
Volume 52 : 2000