Donegal Annual 1999

President: Eddie O’Kane 

Our President 4
Francis Robertson, Founder of the Robertson SchoolsC. P. MacArthur6
Baithin 2000Canon David W. T. Crooks19
The Conynghams of Slane and MountcharlesHelen Meehan 22
The Drumhaggart Early Bronze Age Pit BurialBrian McNaught 36
Placenames of DunaffRosemarie Doherty 41
The Prior School, LiffordBrian Moriarity46
Excavation at BallymacawardElizabeth O’Brien 56
WiIIiam Hart of Muff & The Lough Swilly Oyster CoSean Beattie 62
Most Rev. Patrick Murray CSSR 1865-1959Rev. Bernard Canning71
Portraying Donegal: The OS MemoirsAngelique Day77
Sheol siad le ChildersUinsionn Ó Breisláin93
A Rural Industry in West Ulster – StonecuttingJohn B. Cunningham99
Ancient Basin StoneTommy Gallagher108
The Temperance Movement in South DonegalHelen Meehan110
The Temperance Movement in North DonegalJohn McCreadie 116
Donegal Studies 1999Liam Ó Rónáin118
Book ReviewLiam Ó Rónáin 128
Proceedings of the SocietyJ. D. Williams130
Curator’s ReportL. Emerson 131
Schools Competition Report & ResultsPat Shallow132
Obituary of E.W.R. CookmanArthur Spears133
Officers and Membership 134
Volume 51