Donegal Annual 2009

President: Col. Declan O’Carrol

County Donegal Historical Society 4
President of  Donegal Historical Society 5
Medieval Columban Pilgrimages in Derry & DonegalBrian Lacey6
J.G.Swift MacNeill, M.P., Donegal SouthSeán Beattie21
The First Voyage of Charles K. Boyd, 1892-1976                             Brian Boyd27
A Look Back at Funeral Offerings                                    John J. MacLoone29
A Ballybofey Forgotten Poet : David B. Cunningham 1880-1961       Rev. Raymond Blair32
Pat Cannon and Educational ReformPatrick Cannon38
Tattie Hokers and the IRA : the Impact of Migration to Scotland on the IRA in Donegal During the War of Independence Kelly Thompson52
Ballykinar Internment Camp, Co Down Liam Ó Duibhir60
Charles Inglis, A Bishop from Glencolmcille Conall Mac Cuinneagáin70
 The Duke of Abercorn’s Visit to ArdaraMalcolm McClure83
A View from Manor VaughanThe Hon. Hedley Strutt96
A Glorious Treasury : The Stained Glass Windows in the Church at DesertegneyRev. John R. Walsh100
The Centenary of Long Tower Church, DerryCanon Bernard J. Canning114
Disturbances in Donegal Town, Ballybofey & Stranorlar, 1898Kenneth Dodds118
The Herdmans of Sion Mills and their Connections with the RossesSeán Boner126
A Donegal Writer in GermanyHelen Meehan147
Book ReviewsA. Begley/ Soinbhe Lally154
Donegal Studies 2009Eileen Burgess156
Past Presidents 166
Proceedings of the Society Anthony Begley167
Officers 2009-10 169
Schools’ Competitions 2009Pat Shallow170
List of Members  173
Contributors 181
Calendar of Events 2010 182
Volume 61 : 2009